Hancock County sticks with Trump

Rebecca Peter

Unofficial election results from Tuesday night show that a majority of Hancock County voters went solidly “red”, favoring President Donald Trump (R) over former Vice President Joe Biden (D).

 The unofficial tally had Trump winning with 4,386 votes (71.13 %) and Joe Biden with 1,682 votes (27.28%).

Approximately 1.58 percent of the presidential vote went to various third party or non-aligned candidates.

As of Wednesday, the outcome of the presidential race, nationally, was still too close to call as ballots were still being counted in several pivotal states including Michigan, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Arizona, Nevada and Georgia.


In other key races, Republican Joni Ernst was reelected to another term as U.S Senator from Iowa. Ernst received 4,001 votes in Hancock County.

A total 1,879 votes were cast for Democratic challenger Theresa Greenfield.

Republican Randy Feenstra of Hull will represent Iowa’s 4thCongressional District. Feenstra received 4,132 votes in Hancock County.

Democratic candidate J.D. Scholten of Sioux City received 1,771votes.

State House

Terry Baxter (R-Garner) won reelection to the Iowa House of Representatives, District 8. A total 4,400 votes were cast for Baxter in Hancock County.

Democratic challenger Glenn Kiss of Forest City received 1,449 votes in Hancock County.

District 8 also includes Wright County and a portion of Kossuth.

Republican Dennis Guth of Klemme was re-elected to another term as State Senator, District 4. Guth was unopposed in the Nov. 3 election. He received 5,035 votes in Hancock County. The District also includes Wright, Winnebago, Kossuth and Emmet Counties.

County Offices

The only contested race for county office was for a seat on the Hancock County Board of Supervisors.

Jerry Tlach (R-Britt) was reelected with 3,431 votes. 

Challenger Don Schleusner, who ran in the General Election as an independent candidate, received 2,334 votes. Schleusner ran against Tlach in the June Primary as a Republican, but was defeated.

Hancock County will have a new sheriff as of Jan. 1. Robert A. Gerdes, Jr., a Republican was elected with 5,512 votes. Gerdes ran unopposed. He will replace Sheriff Scott Dodd, who is retiring.

County Auditor Michelle Eisenman (R) was re-elected with 5,512 votes. She was unopposed.

Editor’s note: Hancock County election results from Nov. 3 will be canvassed by the Hancock County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday, Nov. 10. Watch for more results in the Nov. 11 edition of The Leader.






The Leader

The Leader (Garner Office)
365 State Street, Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 1-641-923-2684
Fax: 1-641-923-2685
The Leader (Britt Office)
49 Center Street W.
P.O. Box 321
Britt, IA 50423
Phone: 1-641-843-3241

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.