Feenstra wins GOP Primary in Hancock County

Rebecca Peter

The results of Iowa’s June 2 primary election in Iowa are in. The following are unofficial results of from the Republican and Democratic Primaries in Hancock County. The Hancock County Board of Supervisors canvassed primary election results on Monday.

U.S. House

Iowa, 4th District

A closely watched race was Republican nomination for U.S. House of Representatives in Iowa’s 4thCongressional District. State Senator Randy Feenstra of Hull won the GOP nomination, defeating nine-term Congressman Steve King. The controversial King lost in a five-way race.

Feenstra was also the top pick among Hancock County Republicans, where he garnered 522 votes. King received 451 votes. 

Other candidates on the Republican ballot were: Steve Reeder (32 votes), Bret A. Richards (99 votes) and Jeremy Taylor (63 votes).

Feenstra will face the Democratic nominee, J.D. Scholten of Sioux City, in November. Scholten was unopposed in the Democratic primary. He received 544 votes in Hancock County.

U.S. Senate

Theresa Greenfield of Des Moines is the Democratic Party nominee for U.S. Senate. Greenfield also won in a five-way Democratic primary race to challenge Senator Joni Ernst (R) next November.

Greenfield won in Hancock County with 343 votes. Other candidates on the Democratic ballot were Michael Franken (115 votes), Kimberly Graham (63 votes), Eddie Mauro (39 votes), and Cal Woods (7 votes).

Ernest, who was unchallenged in the Republican primary, received 1,116 votes from Hancock County voters.

County Offices

The only one contested race for county office on the Republican ballot in Hancock County was for County Supervisor. Incumbent Supervisor Jerry Tlach won the GOP nomination over challenger Don Schleusner. Tlach garnered 678 votes. A total 511 votes were cast for Schleusner. 

There were 53 write-in votes cast in Democratic primary.

Other county offices on the ballot for the June 2 primary were that of auditor and sheriff.

Auditor Michelle Eisenman and Deputy Sheriff Robert Gjerdes Jr. each won their respective primaries on the Republican ballot. Eisenman received 1,157 votes. Gerdes won the GOP nomination for sheriff with 1,155 votes. The Republican ballot also had 3 write-in votes for auditor and 13 write-in votes for sheriff.

Democrat primary returns had 32 write-in votes for auditor and 37 write-in votes for sheriff. 

Iowa House

District 8

The GOP primary for the District 8 State Senate seat was uncontested. Incumbent Terry Baxter won 1,135 votes in Hancock County. There were 6 write-in votes.

Baxter will face Democrat Glenn Kiss in November. Kiss received 482 votes in Hancock County in the Democratic Primary. There were 3 write-in votes.

Iowa Senate

District 4

District 4 State Senator Dennis Guth was uncontested in the Republican primary. Guth received 1,107 votes in Hancock County. Nine write-in votes were cast.

Thirty-four write-in votes were cast in the Democratic primary in Hancock County.





The Leader

The Leader (Garner Office)
365 State Street, Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 1-641-923-2684
Fax: 1-641-923-2685
The Leader (Britt Office)
49 Center Street W.
P.O. Box 321
Britt, IA 50423
Phone: 1-641-843-3241

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.