Candidates file for city council, school elections

For the first time in Iowa, city elections and school board elections will be held on the same date: Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019. The deadline for candidates to file nomination papers for city council or school board was Friday, Sept. 20.

Races for seats on city councils have developed at Britt, Corwith, Crystal Lake, Garner and Klemme.

School board races have developed in the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, Belmond-Klemme and LuVerne school districts.


The following candidates for mayor and city council will be on the ballot for city elections (*incumbent candidate):


Mayor (elect 1) – Ryan Arndorfer*

Council (elect 3) – Curt Gast*, Karrie S. Wallen*, Thomas Anderson, Stacey Swenson*, Jay Ryerson


Mayor (elect 1) – Matt Hobscheidt*

Council (elect 3) – Sharon Hankins*, Scott A. Peterson, Bonita Schissel, Cathy D. Lloyd

Council – to fill vacancy – no declared candidate

Crystal Lake

Mayor (elect 1) Les Leibrand, Steven Hanna

Council (elect 3) Laura Blocker, Duane Harms, Russell K. Helms, Loretta Kay Oudekerk


Council (elect 2) Marline K. Lewerke*, Glen Juhl, Jennifer Breister

Council (to fill vacancy, elect 1) Don Bell, David J. Greiman*


Mayor (elect 1) – Ryan Halfpop*

Council (elect 2) Michael K. Holst*, Alan Pralle*


Mayor (elect 1) – Gloria Sobek

Council (elect 2) – Raylin Bassett*, Mathieu LeMay

Council (to fill vacancy, elect 1) – Jeremy Purvis


Mayor (elect 1) – Ken Blank*

Council (elect 2) David Abele*, Daniel Wolf, Doug Taft*


Mayor (elect 1) – Kathy A. Brown*

Council (elect 2) – no declared candidates



School board members are elected to 4-year terms. The following candidates will be on the Nov. 5 ballot for school board elections (*incumbent candidate):

Garner-Hayfield-Ventura(elect 2, at-large) – Kim Upmeyer, Pamela J. Roberts*, Gene Toppin*

In accordance with the voter-approved 2015 reorganization between the Garner-Hayfield and Ventura school districts, the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Board of Education will downsize from a seven-member board to five members at the November 2019 school board meeting.

Current board members, Allison Linahon and Diane Frank, whose terms also expire this year, opted not to seek re-election.

West Hancock

•District 1 at-large (elect 1) – Maureen Abels

•District 2 (elect 1) – Leah Deutsch*

•District 4 (elect 1) – Andrew Eekhoff

•District 5 (elect 1) – Ryan Johnson*


Four seats on the Belmond-Klemme school board are open.  Candidates are:

•District 1 - Sharon Barkema*

•District 2 - Sara Hansen, Ryan Meyer

•District 3 - Daniel Gabrielson and Jim Swenson

•District 5 - Teresa Mosiman*, Michele Murphy

Luverne Elementary

Six candidates are running for three at-large seats on the Luverne Board of Education.

Candidates are: Cody Holmes*, Jennifer Ludwig*, Miranda Robinson, Amber Harris and Joella Leider.